Grover's Ramblings

This is just ME…being me…

‘Checkin-in’ February 16, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — astridgrover @ 7:45 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Gulp…im sitting here at 3.07am in my room this wee morning of 17th February 2010 feeling ever so nervous about the next few hours to come. Excitement and relief is also thrown into this mixed feeling of mine.

My bags are packed (which im not sure for how long i should have packed) and in a few more hours i will be heading off to QEH for a surgery to repair my clef lips. Bone grafting was what the docs told me…some bones from my hips will be transfered to cover my clef. I have no idea how they gonna do that but basically thats wat ive been told. Scary!!!

Im abit excited and relief that this is finally being done. Too long overdue..Shud have been done when I was 16. Finally at 29, I’m gonna do this. One more step closer to those perfect smile. However, I’m more scared than excited instead. I’m not scared of the surgery itself cuz i wont even be awake then. Its the post-surgery..when whatever anesthetics disappear from my system that I’m so not looking forward to. If only i cud fast forward to when im fully healed. *Sigh..God can you do such a thing?* What if i wake up with a long tube down my throat or my mouth swollen from a tear (my mouth is very small). And the pain…oh i cant imagine the pain! Arrrgghhh…im getting scared by the minute.

And worst of all.. i will be warded in QEH..urgh.. the horor! Having to see so many other sick people (not to mention dying / dead ppl) around. And obviously since its an old hospital the facilities are well…not at the most advance. And the common bathroom!!! Waaaaahhh!!! And having no more 1st class ward rooms there is just mighty… 😦 And then there’s those horror stories related to old hospitals… I can only imagine what’s roaming around in the hallways..especially on the abandoned upper floors of the hospital. Damn!

Ok think positive Astrid..at least…from this whole thing im gonna be one step closer to nice teeth and i can loose weight…hheeh…i probably wont even be able to open my mouth properly to eat anything. I can actually have all the free time to watch the whole season of Glee, Desperate Housewives, Gray’s etc (courtesy of my cuzzes)

On a lighter note, i was thinking since the surgeons will be taking some bones from my hips…hmm..i might as well get them to reshape both sides of my huge hips ey? hehhehe..killing two birds with one stone.

Anyways, i will not be around to update this blog for a while but i’ll be back very soon on my updates and my entire ordeal. Wish me luck!

ugly!

my crooked lips and nose
 

One Response to “‘Checkin-in’”

  1. melbie Says:

    You’ll be fine, my friend ((hugs)) All the best to you and get well soon! 🙂 Looking forward to seeing you with you perfect smiles


Leave a Reply

