DIY Gold Office Supplies

This is an old project but I just like to share what I’ve done in the past. Like a quote from Gary Vee, “just keep documenting the things you do.” So this is my effort to document all my projects. I’m trying to leave my mark in this life before I’m gone.

Inspired by Nate Berkus,  I made-over my office desk with gold office supplies. Gold is a favorite for many people. And yeah, it just makes things look hip and expensive. Also, I like to see things color coordinated. Finding gold stationary in Kota Kinabalu is really hard to find. If I do find it, bloody expensive. So I do what I do best. DIY it!

Here are the list of things I used for the makeover:

  • Masking tape
  • Scissors
  • Gold spray paint (I used 4 cans for this project)
  • Clear spray paint (to seal the gold paint in)

My office supplies:

  • Fold-able plastic mini basket
  • Magnetic board
  • Push pin board
  • Big stapler
  • Small stapler
  • Paper puncher
  • Scissors with plastic handle
  • Push pins
  • Plastic magazine rack
  • Plastic document rack

I didn’t really needed to buy any new stationary. These were just ones I already use for work.

Stationary

Let’s start:

First remove all stickers or wipe the stationary clean. Make sure there is no dust or glue residue. step 1

Then start taping areas you don’t want spray paint on with masking tape. step 2

For push pins, I poke it through a cardboard box so it would be easier to spray paint. step 3

Now the fun part. My favorite part. Spray painting! Make sure you are in a well ventilated space and cover as much floor as possible. Keep about 5-inches away from the items to have a smooth finish. I did two coats of gold spray and a final one with the clear spray to lock in the color and give it a slightly glossier finish. Make sure it’s dry in-between sprays. step 4

And it’s done! That simple.

Now it’s time to makeover my desk space. This is how my desk looked like before. Total mess.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I went out and bought self-adhesive wall paper from Kaison to cover my divider board. I hated the standard green. It looks so… ‘officey’. I covered my red foam board which I used as my push pin board too.

Jpeg

I also used the wall paper to match my coasters. Jpeg

Then all I had to do next was arranged the stationary on my desk. Looks so good now. Matchy-matchy! Now I have a little bit of motivation to work.

Jpeg

I had just one more thing to change. My mismatched, and faded back rest pillow. Jpeg

So I went and got myself new ones from Kaison. (I love them). I chose bright and happy colors because I love bright and happy things. p_20180918_132618.jpg

There you go. How amazing that by just having a uniformed color can drastically change the look of a space.

Watch the video tutorial on my Youtube chanel: Astrid Grover

Leave a comment